Service of Dedication to Commemorate the Fallen of the Falklands War of 1982, Ross-on-Wye on 14th April

The High Sheriff attended the service of dedication to commemorate the Fallen of the Falklands War in 1982.

Three soldiers are remembered.

Private Timothy Jones, 3rd Battalion The Parachute Regiment

Guardsman Gareth Griffiths, 1st Battalion Welsh Guards

Guardsman Colin Parsons, 1st Battalion Welsh Guards.

The service took place in the Market Place where those assembled were welcomed by Air Commodore Vivian Warrington OBE, President of the Ross-on-Wye and District Royal British Legion. The service was lead by the Revd. Sarah Jones, Rector of Ross-on-Wye. A  moving tribute was given by Trevor Bradshaw, a comrade of Private Jenkins. The Exhortation and Kohima was made by Graham Aplin, Chairman of the Ross-on-Wye and District Royal British Legion. Gordon Mather MM, Chairman of the South Atlantic Medal Association read a prayer. Finally, Major Patrick Darling DL, on behalf of The Dowager Countess of Darnley, Her Majesty’s Lord Lieutenant of Herefordshire, thanked all who attended, those who contributed to the memorial and those who worked so hard to make the day a success.

The High Sheriff was accompanied by his Brother, Michael Hone, who has served in the Falkland Islands with the Coldstream Guards just after the war had ended.

The day was a moving start to the year in office.