Herefordshire Local Policing Area Awards Ceremony


By 2013 Bob Tabor

Bob and Bea attended the Herefordshire Local Policing Area Awards Ceremony in the Town Hall on Thursday, 27th February 2014.  Hosted by Superintendent Ivan Powell, it was a wonderful evening celebrating dedication and bravery by members of the police force in Herefordshire and also by members of the public.

HM Lord-Lieutenant of Herefordshire, The Countess of Darnley JP was in attendance accompanied by The Earl of Darnley DL.  Also attending were The Chief Constable, David Shaw and The Mayors of Hereford, Bromyard & Winslow, Leominster and Ross-on-Wye.

Mr Paul Deneen DL OBE JP, Community Ambassador Co-ordinator for the PCC and Gwyneth Gill, Police Ambassador to Herefordshire were also present.

Following an introduction and welcome by Superintendent Ivan Powell, The Countess of Darnley presented the Long Service and Good Conduct Medal to DCI Sean Paley.  Chief Constable David Shaw then presented the Chief Constable’s Commendation to Mr James Mooney.

Bob presented the High Sheriff’s Award to Mr Ben Jones for his bravery and public spirit in preventing a young woman from jumping from a bridge in Hereford.  He was assisted by  Dave Thomas before the arrival of the police and emergency services.

The final presentations were the Superintendent’s Commendations by Superintendent Ivan Powell.  They were presented to the following:

DC Benjamin Pearson; Mr Robert Lawrence; PS Nigel Hagan; PC Richard Johnson; PC Kris Cooke; PC Steven Blake; PC Ian Danks; PC Julian Jones; PC Neil James; PCSO Dean Wall; PC Lawrence Smith and PC Wayne Strangwood.

The Closing Address was given by Mr Paul Deneen.

Herefordshire Local Policing Area Awards Ceremony